WPC Energy Excellence Awards

2023 WPC Energy Excellence Awards

Winners Announced!

Over 400 nominated projects were reviewed by the independent judging panel in this cycle’s awards nominations. The Winners & Finalists in each category were announced at the 24th Congress in Calgary:

WPCEA for Social Responsibility 

Small to medium sized companies


Kilang Pertamina Internasional Refinery Unit III Plaju: Lighting More Hopes - Indonesia


Kilang Pertamina Internasional - Refinery Unit III Plaju: Climate Village Program- Indonesia

Gulf Petrochemical Industries Company: Commitment towards society - Bahrain

Large Companies & NOCs


Marun Petrochemical Company: MAHSHAHR Deserves the Best - Iran


Indian Oil: Madhur Muskan - India

Mari Petroleum Company Limited (MPCL): Tribal People of Waziristan - Pakistan

WPCEA for Technological Development 

Small to medium sized companies


Micro-Bac International: Bacterial application for environmental and economical improvements in SWD assets - USA


Nouri Petrochemical Complex: Using Catalytic Reaction of Methanol-H2S as a Green Approach for Sour Gas Sweetening - Iran

Opla Energy Ltd: Pressure Management Device, PMD - Canada

Large Companies & NOCs


Saudi Aramco: Sensor Bell - Saudi Arabia


Petroleum Development Oman: Energy Efficiency Accomplishments - Oman

Saudi Aramco: Novel Iron Sulfide Mitigation Program - Saudi Arabia

Every three years at the WPC Energy Congress, WPC Energy recognises some of the most outstanding projects and innovations in the energy sector with WPC Energy Excellence Awards (WPCEA). The objective of the WPC Energy Excellence Awards (WPCEA) is to distinguish companies, institutions or any public or private organisation (not individuals) engaged in the energy industry for promoting or operating with high excellence standards. Companies can submit projects in three categories:

Social Responsibility, Technological Development & Gender and Inclusion

Each category will have two winners, one from an NOC or large business and the other to represent the work of small and medium size organisations.

  • Small & medium sized businesses (SMEs) are non-subsidiary companies which employ less than 500 employees
  • Academia are also counted as SMEs for the purpose of the Excellence Awards
  • National Oil Companies and International Oil Companies should apply in the NOC/Large Company category

The following criteria are taken into consideration by an independent panel when assessing the projects:

WPCEA on Social Responsibility

  • Innovative and far-reaching social responsibility initiatives benefitting the community or environment
  • Commitment and involvement of management and employees
  • Cooperation with local communities and stakeholders and development of mutually beneficial relations 
  • Feasibility
  • Wide applicability and reproducibility within the petroleum sector
  • Proved or clearly demonstrable long-term results

WPCEA on Technological Developments

  • Technological breakthroughs
  • Innovative applications of existing technologies
  • Cost effectiveness
  • Wide applicability for the petroleum industry
  • Proved or clearly demonstrable and sustainable results (long term)

WPCEA on Gender and Inclusion - new category

  • Effective policies, programmes and interventions in place to improve gender diversity, with measurable results
  • Innovative use of technology to remove barriers to gender representation across the business
  • Driving gender parity is a strategic business commitment supported across the board by senior management
  • Company culture that recognises D&I as a fundamental organisational value
  • Transparent D&I company targets

WPC Energy Excellence Awards for Youth

In recognition of the important contribution by youth to the energy industry, WPC Energy rewards the best young authors from the Congress Technical Programme. These are selected from the best abstracts submitted by young professionals under 35.

With the issue of attracting and retaining young people in the petroleum industry a key concern for the whole sector and a focus area of the WPC this special Award recognises the best young presenter of a paper or poster at the Congress under 35 years.  Highlighting the strong commitment of WPC Energy of encouraging young professionals to participate in the WPC Energy Congress.  

First Place:

Rahul Raveendran, Energy Prediction and Monitoring on Cloud - Case Studies

Second Place:

Ziqi Qiu, Enhancing Shale Gas Recovery by Injecting Supercritical CO2 and CO2 Storage in Shale Gas Reservoirs

Third Place:  

Thomas Fox, Optimising Cost of Methane Mitigation and Safety in Leak Detection and Repair

The Winners of the WPC Energy Excellence Awards were announced during the 24th Congress in Calgary on 21 September 2023

If you have any questions on the above please contact secretariat@wpcenergy.org