Dewhurst Awards

The Dewhurst Award

In 1933, Mr. Thomas Dewhurst (1881-1973), then President of the Institute of Petroleum in UK, organised what was to become the first World Petroleum Congress. The Dewhurst Lecture is a tribute to him and to the person asked to deliver the Dewhurst Lecture.

The World Petroleum Council uses the Dewhurst Lecture to celebrate an outstanding individual for their scientific and technological excellence in the petroleum industry. The recipients of the award are well known throughout the industry and have demonstrated unusually high achievements over many years.


Amin H. Nasser to be honoured with the WPC Dewhurst Award 2023

Aramco President & CEO Amin Nasser will be honoured this year with the WPC Dewhurst Award in recognition of his leadership and contributions to the oil and gas industry.

Nasser is only the twelfth recipient of the Dewhurst Award in the nearly 90-year history of the World Petroleum Council (WPC).

Pedro Miras, WPC President, called “Nasser a visionary in our industry” and someone who has “earned great respect from his team as well as his peers through his support of education and training, as well as his global cooperation and open approach to the challenges we face.” Miras added: “On behalf of our Board and Members I am delighted to congratulate him on this recognition.”

After graduating from the King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM) in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia with a degree in petroleum engineering, Nasser joined Aramco in 1982. During a successful career of more than four decades, Nasser has served in a number of leadership positions in the company. Under his leadership, Aramco is engaged in the largest capital investment program in its history, building on its energy industry leadership position by expanding its oil and gas production capacity, increasing the downstream value chain with significant investments and joint venture partnerships globally, and developing new, lower-carbon energy solutions. 

2021, Dr Daniel Yergin

2002Dr Daniel Yergin, Pulitzer-prize winner, leading energy expert, and author of The New Map: Energy, Climate, and the Clash of Nations”, Dr. Daniel Yergin, was recognised for his exceptional contribution to the oil, gas, and energy industry with the highest honour of the World Petroleum Council, the Dewhurst Award, at the 23rd World Petroleum Congress in Houston, USA. This distinguished lifetime achievement award celebrated his role as a global authority on energy, international politics, and economics. He was presented with the award by the WPC President and also by the recipient of the last Dewhurst Award, Rex Tillerson.

Watch the video of the speech here on our Youtube channel. The video includes the introduction by the WPC President and Mr Rex Tillerson.

2002, Euan Baird

2000Euan Baird, Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO of Schlumberger - The 5th Dewhurst Lecture (2002)