Young Professionals Committee

The WPC Energy Young Professionals Committee was set up in 2006 in response to the serious shortage of young talented employees to replace the ranks of experienced professionals about to leave the industry. The committee is intended to promote a realistic image of the energy industry amongst the youth together with its challenges and opportunities. It has also created a collaborative and global forum for young people to be heard and new ideas to be championed.

In order to better engage with the target audience of young professionals and students the WPC Energy Youth Committee was re-named WPC Energy Young Professionals in 2015.

Encouraging unconventional thinking

“It is important that young people are at the forefront of resolving this issue as they are the ones who will inherit this industry and should be involved in crafting its future”  said the WPC Energy President.

The main focus areas of the WPC Energy Young Professionals Committee include the creation of a strong network, the set-up of an effective communication plan, the definition of a sustainable strategy for the young professionals committee and a strong presence at major activities of the WPC and in other areas of the industry.  For more details on the WPC Energy YP Committees activities click here. At the 23rd World Petroleum Congress in Houston in December 2021 the Council affirmed the new members of the WPC Youth Committee for the cycle 2021 - 2023 which have been nominated by their National Committees. The members of the WPC Young Professionals are:

  • Mr Thaise Temoteo - Brazil / Alternate: Miss Ludmila Sampaio
  • Mr Shamus Hardie – Canada / Alternate: Mr Lukas Albrecht 
  • Dr Kai Wang - China
  • Mr Matej Dohnal - Czech Republic
  • Mr Arnaud Harismendy - France / Alternate: Mr Timothé de Tonquédec
  • Ms Ana-Luiza Luecke - Germany / Alternate: Ms Stefanie Saefken
  • Mr Márton Takács - Hungary
  • Mr Amir Nekouei Mehr - Iran 
  • Ms Dariga Mukasheva - Kazakhstan / Alternate: Mr Daulet Kibatov
  • Mr Mohammad Talal Alsarraf - Kuwait / Alternate: Ms Dalal Fahad Mubarak Alohali
  • Ms Hasnaa Lamik - Morocco
  • Mr Matias Cuberes - Argentina / Alternate: Mr Daniel Mocayar García
  • Mr Georg Ripperger - Austria
  • Mr Emil Alkhasli - Azerbaijan / Alternate: Ms Aynura Huseynova 
  • Mr Karel de Raeve - Belgium
  • Mrs Rebecca Tunli – Norway
  • Ms Maram Ali Hamdam Al Balushi - Oman / Alternate: Mr Alaa Hassan Mohammed Al Zarafi (YPC co Vice Chair) 
  • Mr Kamil Klejna - Poland / Alternate: Mr Tomasz Wroblewski 
  • Ms Lesana Kurbonshoeva - Russia (YPC Chair) / Alternate: Mr Ivan Kurchatov 
  • Mr Nassir A. Abalkhail - Saudi Arabia
  • Ms Petra Bizjak - Slovenia
  • Ms Olga Fedorova - Spain / Alternate: Ms Marta Foyedo
  • Mrs Gul Ugurluer - Turkey / Alternate: Mr Suleyman Coskun
  • Ms Maha Khan - UK / Alternate: Ms Jing Xiao
  • Mr David Lankford-Bravo - USA (YPC co Vice Chair) / Alternate: Mr Julian Chenin