2014 WPC Excellence Awards

Technological Development and Social Responsibility

Over 100 nominated projects were reviewed by the independent judging panel in this cycle’s
awards nominations. The winner and finalists in each category are:

WPCEA for Social Responsibility

Small to medium sized companies 

Hunt Oil Company

Hunt Global Partnerships
"Promoting Healthy Communities"

OMV: Skills to Succeed Project Tataouine - Vocational Training, Economic Development

Sakhalin Energy Investment Company Ltd.: Sakhalin Indig

Large Companies & NOCs

Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd

Boond - Rain water harvesting initiative

Exxon Mobil: Grassroot Soccer SKILLZ: Malaria and HIV/AIDS Prevention Programs

Shell: Isle de Jean Charles – Shell’s innovative solution to save a vanishing culture

WPCEA for Technological Development

Small to medium sized companies 


Gas Fermentation Process

Glori Energy: Activated Environment for Recovery of Oil (AERO) System

Nanto Cleantech spa: Disruptive Cleantech Technologies for Cost-Effective Industrial Applications

Large Companies & NOCs


ExxonMobil and LNG

ABB: World's first fully autonomous selfpowered wireless temperature transmitter

Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd: Smart Wireless in Oil marketing Terminals: An innovative & cost-effective solution

The winners were announced live during the WPC Excellence Awards Ceremony on the first
day of the 21st World Petroleum Congress, Monday, 16th June, by Vladimir Evtushenkov,
Chairman of the Russian National Committee of WPC and Chair of Sistema.

WPCEA 2014 Judging Panel:

Social Responsibility

Faris Hasan, Director of Corporate Planning& Economic Services, OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)

Brian Sullivan, Executive Director, IPIECA

Eng. Jorge Ciacciarelli, Executive Secretary ARPEL

James Shaw, Director, amplify PR Canada

Technological Development

Torstein Indrebø, Secretary General, International Gas Union

Martin Maeso, Technical Director, Energy Institute, UK

Dr Pierce Riemer, Director General, World Petroleum Council

Prof Anatoly Zolotukhin, Counsellor, International Affairs, Research Director, Institute of Arctic Petroleum Technology, Gubkin University of Oil and Gas, Russia


WPC Excellence Awards for Youth

In recognition of the important contribution by youth to the energy industry, the World Petroleum
Council also rewarded the best young authors of the Congress. This year the 21st World
Petroleum Congress Organizing Committee has pledged an award of exceptional value for the
best abstracts submitted by young people under 35. US$5,000 in prize money was awarded to
the best youth presenters, with the winner receiving US$2,000, while two runners-up were
granted US$1,500.

Winner: Ms. Victoria Santos
PhD Student, Energy Planning Program/COPPE/UFRJ, Brazil

“Building a "Bio-Perspective" from Petroleum Revenues: a Pathway Through Bioplatforms'
Oriented Biofineries in Rio de Janeiro State, Brazil”

Finalist: Mr. Sascha Follmann
PhD Student, University of Kaiserslautern (TU), Germany

“Direct Conversion of Ethene to Propene and Butenes over Medium Pore Zeolites”

Finalist: Ms. Maria Morgunova
PhD Student, Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas, Russian Federation

“Changing the Geopolitical Scope Around Arctic Hydrocarbon Resources”